Letters were mailed today, 9/20/18, to all candidates who took the written test. If you took the written test and do not receive a letter informing you of your results by 9/26/18, contact Sgt. Maire.
The 2018 application process for Probationary Police Officer is now closed. All applicants who submitted applications, with proper documents, will receive a letter advising them of their written test date and how to obtain a Candidate Preparation Manual and Practice Test. The letters will be mailed during the first week of August and applicants who do not receive a letter by August 13th should contact Sergeant Maire at firstname.lastname@example.org.
No. All candidates must participate in the hiring process. If you are hired and are PTC certified as a Regular Police Officer you would start at the post academy rate. If you are currently a Class II or State Police Officer and are hired, we would apply for a waiver from the NJPTC. See below waiver guide:
NJPTC WAIVER GUIDE
This document is for reference only and each candidate should inquire with the New Jersey Police Training Commission for waiver eligibility.
IMPORTANT: The Chief of Police has sole discretion on whether or not a newly hired officer can apply for a waiver, regardless of eligibility.
The standard rule of thumb to obtain a waiver for the “Basic Course for Police Officers” certification from the New Jersey Police Training Commission is as follows:
- Corrections – NO
- SLEO II – YES (within 3 years of graduation from academy)
- NJSP – YES
OUT OF STATE
- Corrections – NO
- Police Officers – Regular full-time officers who are in good standing and are still within 3 years of last employer need to present academy curriculum to PTC for possible waiver.
To see more details on waivers:
- Go to www.NJPTC.com
- Click on “PTC Rules/Act”
- Click on “Police Training Commission Rules”
- Scroll down to page “1-13”
- Read Appendix PTC “Waivers of Training” matrix
The 2019 starting salary for officers attending the police academy is $44,604.
The 2019 salary for post academy or for applicants that are PTC certified is $50,444.
The 2019 top salary for a patrol officer (11 steps in 11 years) is $128,920.
The 2019 top salary for a corporal (20 years) is $141,613.
Yes. If you have tattoos larger than a 3×5 index card on your arms you can still be hired as a police officer but will be required to wear a long sleeve shirt year round.
Yes, if you have 64 college credit hours from an accredited college combined with 2 years of full-time out-of-state regular police service you qualify to apply. The police service can be out-of-state if you can show proof that you were a certified regular full-time officer for 2 years and show proof of an academy or state certification. The Toms River Police Department has the right to accept or deny and has the sole discretion as to out-of-state police certificates.
An out-of-state police officer certification does not guarantee a waiver from the New Jersey Police Training Commission and if hired, you may need to attend the entire 22 week police academy.
The below directions are to help you prepare for the swim test and may be modified at any time.
- Enter the pool in the shallow end and hold onto shallow end wall
- Time will start when you push off the wall or start to swim from shallow end wall
- Swim length of pool to deep end and touch deep end wall (approximately 25 yards)
- Turn around at deep end in any fashion (may push off wall) and swim to shallow end wall (feet cannot touch floor)
- Touch shallow end wall and turn around in any fashion (may push off wall) and swim to 8 foot mark in deep end of pool (proctor will alert you when you are at the 8 foot mark)
- Tread water momentarily above weighted object
- Retrieve approximate 10 lb. weighted object at bottom of pool (8 ft. depth)
- Bring weighted object to nearest side of pool (only time you may use feet to push off bottom of pool to surface)
- Clock will stop when weighted object is placed on ground outside of pool (you do not need to be outside of pool to place weighted object on ground outside of pool for time to stop)
- Must complete the test within 1 minute and 45 seconds
- Tread water to rest
- Swim above or underwater in any style
YOU MAY NOT:
- Wear goggles
- Wear swim cap
- Use hand paddles (bare hands only)
- Use footwear of any kind (bare feet only)
- Use a running start (you will start in pool)
- Exit pool and reenter
- Touch floor to rest once you begin (Automatic DQ)
- Grab side of pool to rest once you begin (Automatic DQ)
- Retake or restart the test (no second attempts)
A lap is one length of the pool (approximately 25 yards). You are required to swim 2 and 3/4 laps which is a total distance of approximately 69 yards.
You can submit your completed application with all the attached documents in one of two ways.
- Drop it off at the Toms River Police Department, 255 Oak Ave. Toms River, NJ 08753 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week) or
- Mail to Toms River Police Department: P.O. Box 876 Toms River, NJ 08754 (MUST include a self-addressed, stamped envelope).
Officers are given personal, vacation, sick and bereavement leave time which is based on the amount of years of service and the PBA contract.
Officers and immediate family members receive medical and dental coverage through Blue Cross/ Blue Shield.
Officers and immediate family members receive dental coverage.
Retirees receive a pension from the New Jersey Police and Firemen’s Retirement System.
The 2018 starting salary for officers attending the police academy is $43,730.
The 2018 salary for post academy or for applicants that are PTC certified is $49,455.
The 2018 top salary for a patrol officer (11 steps in 11 years) is $126,392.
The 2018 top salary for a corporal (20 years) is $138,836.
The current contract between the Township of Toms River and PBA Local #137 is from 1/1/18 to 12/31/21.
No. There are no make-up days for any test dates, appointments, or interviews.
The written test will be administered by a 3rd party vendor and instructional material will be provided to the applicants prior to testing.
The written entrance exam is at Toms River High School East on 9/8/18.
The physical task assessment test is at Ocean County College Gymnasium on 10/28/18 for the top 150 scores from the written test.
The swim test is at the Ocean County YMCA on 10/28/18 for those applicants who passed the physical task assessment tests.
No. We are not a civil service town and you do not need to be a resident of Toms River to take the police test or to be hired by the Toms River Police Department.
To fulfill the education requirement, you need to have 64 college credits combined with two years of full-time regular police or two years of full-time active duty military service completed by 7/31/18.
Your Bachelor’s Degree needs to be completed by 7/31/18 to fulfill the education requirement, or you need to have 64 college credits combined with two years of full-time regular police or two years of full-time active duty military service completed by 7/31/18.
No. Any 4-year degree from an accredited college or university will satisfy the degree requirement.
Yes. You can request a waiver from the PTC if you are a SLEO II to obtain certification for the Basic Course for Police Officers.
No. Corrections Officer service doesn’t count towards the full-time Regular Police Service requirement.
No. Full-time SLEO II service doesn’t count towards the full-time Regular Police Officer Service requirement.